The Voice of the Utah Mining Industry Since 1915

For over 100 years, the Utah Mining Association has had the honor of representing an industry that is essential to everyone’s lifestyle and standard of living. As the beginning of the supply chain for everything we use and everything we do as a society, the mining industry has a great story to tell, and our association exists to tell that story.

Chad Baker, Parsons Behle & Latimer

Read Bio

Chad Baker is a shareholder in Parsons Behle & Latimer’s Environmental, Energy & Natural Resource department. He assists clients with identifying and implementing practical approaches to environmental, natural resource, and energy issues through all phases of a project’s lifecycle including due diligence, permitting, compliance and enforcement, and divestment or closure. He also has experience representing owners, engineers, construction managers, and contractors with contract negotiations, project execution, and claims management including alternative dispute resolution and litigation. Chad is licensed to practice in Arizona, California, and Utah.

Kevin Anderson, Fabian VanCott

Vice Chairman
Read Bio

Kevin Anderson has the professional experience and resources available at Fabian VanCott to assist clients in complex litigation cases when they are facing difficult problems or have already faced defeat. For example, Kevin led a team of Fabian VanCott attorneys in representing the co-owner of Crandall Canyon Mine in connection with catastrophic events at the Mine in August 2007, in the court room, with the press, and with governmental authorities. As lead attorney, Kevin conducted negotiations involving multiple plaintiffs, insurance companies, and co-defendants to reach a settlement of all claims for all parties in less than two years. He also has prevailed in highly publicized cases against the NCAA and the FBI. Kevin has handled many cases in Utah, Nevada and other jurisdictions, involving employment agreements and alleged breaches of covenants not to compete. Kevin has assisted clients in matters related to the defense of reputation and corporate image, a variety of disputes dealing with contracts, force majeure, securities fraud, banking, real-estate transactions, and intellectual property. Kevin is also an active mediator and arbitrator.

Kevin graduated from Georgetown University Law Center and is admitted to practice in Utah, Nevada, the District of Columbia, Ohio, the 9th, 10th and District of Columbia U.S. Circuit Courts of Appeal, and the U.S. Supreme Court.

Matt Tobey, Rio Tinto Kennecott

1st Vice President
Read Bio

Matt Tobey is the General Manager of Minerals for Rio Tinto Kennecott, working with his team to safely bring together one of the world’s largest mining and processing operations. His clear passion for the mining industry comes from the strong relationships he’s built with the people he has worked alongside for more than 20 years.
Prior to his current role, Matt has held various front line and technical roles, including securing Kennecott’s future, as the manager of the mine’s expansion planning group. He was also fortunate enough to work as the operations manager at the Copperton Concentrator and other facilities along the Oquirrh mountains. He is proud to be Rio Tinto Kennecott’s ambassador to neighboring Copperton.
In addition to Rio Tinto, his resume includes several other major companies within the mining industry, including BHP and Freeport McMoRan. While his career has taken him to four continents, Matt has made Utah his home. He enjoys the area’s great biking and hiking, as well as attending Real Salt Lake games with his wife Kathleen, and his children Grace and Jess. He spends much of his free time working in the community and is grateful to be able to support many wonderful local organizations.
Originally from St. Louis, Missouri, he began his mining career with a Bachelor’s and Master’s degree in Mining Engineering from the University of Missouri – Rolla.

Corey Heaps, Wolverine Fuels

2nd Vice President
Read Bio

Corey was born in Florida and raised in Utah, along with 7 siblings. He attended the University of Utah, where he earned a Bachelors degree in Mining Engineering. He worked for Canyon Fuel Company for 9 years as a mining engineer. He also held various supervisory positions at the Dugout Canyon Mine located near Price, Utah. Corey then transitioned to Rhino Energy, managing their western division. He worked there for 8 years, before accepting his previous position as the General Manager for Canyon Fuel Company’s Skyline Mine, located in central Utah. Currently, Corey is the Vice President of Operations for Wolverine Fuels.
Corey’s hobbies include fishing, hunting, skiing, mountain biking, and motorcycling. He has also been active in the Boy Scouts of America since 1994. Currently he resides in Utah with his wife of 19 years, Diane, and their 5 children.”

Brian Somers, Utah Mining Association

Read Bio

Brian Somers joined the Utah Mining Association as its president in 2019. Mr. Somers has over 20 years of extensive experience in legislative affairs, strategic communications, and executive leadership. Prior to UMA, he led the Utah Science Technology and Research Initiative (USTAR) as its managing director. He also served as the deputy director of the Utah Department of Heritage & Arts, on the communications staff of Governor Gary R. Herbert, and in various strategic communications roles in the private sector.

Executive Committee

All of the above, plus:

  • Louis Cononelos, U of U Mining Engineering Dept.
  • David R. Bird, Parsons Behle & Latimer
  • Ken May, Individual
  • Josh Brown, Rio Tinto Kennecott
  • Greg Gregory, Materion Natural Resources
  • Corey Heaps, Wolverine Fuels, LLC
  • David Zimmerman, Brahma Group
  • John Byars, Canyon Fuel Company – Sufco
  • Jonathan Campbell, Wheeler Machinery Company
  • Bill Forsyth, Rio Tinto Kennecott
  • Jared Jackson, Simplot Vernal Mine
  • Scott Mork, Graymont
  • Alysen Tarrant, Lisbon Valley Mining Company
  • Jim Slade, Komatsu Equipment Company

Board of Directors

Executive Committee, plus:

  • Marty Banks, Stoel Rives
  • Robert Bayer, R.J. Bayer Professional Geologist, LC
  • Rosemary Beless, Fabian VanCott
  • Mark Buchi, Holland & Hart
  • Brian Buck, Stantec Consulting
  • Drew Coats, Lisbon Valley Mining Company
  • John Davis, Holland and Hart
  • Denise Dragoo, Snell & Wilmer
  • Reggie Farlaino, Strata Worldwide
  • Greg Gillian, Stantec
  • Lisa Kirschner, Parsons Behle & Latimer
  • Don Lewon, Utah Metal Works
  • Nick Lott, American Gilsonite
  • Kim Robinson, Robinson Transport
  • Eric Rogers, Intrepid Potash – Wendover
  • Terrence Savage, Savage Services
  • Amanda Smith, Holland & Hart
  • Rick York, Intrepid Potash – Moab